Ashley Gorley


Ashley Gorley has written a record 58 #1 singles and has seen more than 400 songs recorded by artists such as Luke Bryan, Carrie Underwood, Thomas Rhett, Blake Shelton, Dan + Shay, Kelsea Ballerini, Bon Jovi, Weezer, and more. His recent hits include “You Should Probably Leave” by Chris Stapleton, “Sand In My Boots” by Morgan Wallen, and “What’s Your Country Song” by Thomas Rhett. Gorley has been honored as ASCAP Songwriter of the Year an unprecedented eight times. He is a five-time Billboard Top Country Songwriter (including 2021), five-time NSAI Songwriter of the Year, and 2021 iHeart Radio All-Genre Songwriter of the Year, landing the nomination again in 2022. He has multiple Grammy, CMA, and ACM nominations. Gorley finds passion in championing talented writers at his publishing company, Tape Room Music, whose writers have celebrated over 30 number-one hits. Gorley attended Belmont University and graduated Magna Cum Laude in 1999. Since graduating, he has continued to give back to the University through leading seminars and mentoring students, as well as serving as a professor of Music Publishing from 2006-2008. Ashley is a champion for the songwriting community. He has met with Senators and The Library of Congress to promote songwriters’ rights and bills such as the Music Modernization Act. In 2011, Gorley formed his own publishing and artist development company, Tape Room Music. Writers for Tape Room have already celebrated over 30 #1 songs, including 2018 ASCAP Country Song of the Year, “Body Like A Back Road” and 2021 ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC Country Song, “One Of Them Girls.”

Award History:

ASCAP Songwriter of the Year- 2009, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020.

Billboard Top Country Songwriter - 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, and 2021

NSAI Songwriter of the Year - 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2020

iHeart Radio Songwriter of the Year - 2021

CMA Triple Play Awards (recognizes three number-one songs in a year) - 15 total 

Number One Singles include:

"Black," “Living” - Dierks Bentley

"Dirt On My Boots" - Jon Pardi

"A Guy With A Girl" - Blake Shelton

"American Country Love Song" - Jake Owen

"T-Shirt," “Unforgettable,” “Marry Me,” “Life Changes,” Remember You Young”, "What’s Your Country Song" “Country Again” - Thomas Rhett

"You Should Be Here," "Middle of a Memory" “Single Saturday Night” - Cole Swindell

"Heartbeat," "Good Girl," "All-American Girl," "Don't Forget to Remember Me," "Dirty Laundry" - Carrie Underwood

"I See You," "Kick the Dust Up," "Play It Again," "That's My Kind of Night," "Crash My Party," “What Makes You Country” - Luke Bryan

"Nothin' Like You" - Dan + Shay

"Young & Crazy" - Frankie Ballard

"Do I Make You Wanna," "Don't It," "Hey Girl" - Billy Currington

"Rewind" - Rascal Flatts

"Don't Ya" - Brett Eldredge

"Just Gettin' Started," "Tonight Looks Good on You"- Jason Aldean

"Aw Naw" - Chris Young

"Yeah"  - Joe Nichols

"Runnin' Outta Moonlight" - Randy Houser

"Today," "American Saturday Night," "Then," "Start a Band"- Brad Paisley

"It Won't Be Like This For Long" - Darius Rucker

"You're Gonna Miss This" - Trace Adkins

“Fix a Drink,” “Good Vibes” - Chris Janson

“Eyes On You” - Chase Rice

“Love Ain’t” - Eli Young Band

“Rumor” - Lee Brice

“I Don’t Know About You” - Chris Lane

“Ridin’ Roads” - Dustin Lynch

“Catch” - Brett Young

“Hard To Forget” - Sam Hunt

“One Big Country Song” - LOCASH

“One Of Them Girls”- Lee Brice

“Hole In The Bottle” - Kelsea Ballerini

“All My Favorite Songs” - Weezer (Billboard Rock/Alternative Airplay #1)

“Sand In My Boots” - Morgan Wallen

“You Should Probably Leave” - Chris Stapleton